Goodbye, Nibbler

Nibbler 2007-2008. He was a good little laptop.

Nibbler 2007-2008. He was a good little laptop.

My backpack was stolen from my car yesterday in Boston. I threw it in the car before heading off for coffee with a friend. Apparently I forgot to lock the car as I walked off. While driving home later, I reached over to get a snack and realized it wasn’t there.

 

My laptop was in the backpack. That’s really not as bad as it seems (other than the cost of replacing it). The laptop (who was affectionately known as Nibbler) was not my main computer but rather the one I used when not working in my office. Though I took a few notes in the library yesterday, the result was that I didn’t really lose any major files as far as my dissertation and qualifying exams go. I feel really really bad, though, that some of the photographs my son has been taking were only stored on the laptop. I don’t back up the laptop and I had erased most of the pictures from the memory card to make room for a job I have to do Friday night. So those photos are lost.

What really hurts is that my spiral notebook that I take dissertation notes in when I don’t feel like typing was in that backpack. I usually transcribe written notes into a file on my computer every few weeks but hadn’t done it in a while. I’m not sure how much I lost in that respect. I was terribly depressed all night about it, thinking about how I was going to have to re-read books and articles and take notes again. During my run this morning, I realized that another 2 or 3 weeks added onto an interminably long project isn’t really going to matter. But I continue to feel just a little down about it because there may have been some terribly brilliant insight written on one of the pages!

For all you PhD’ers out there–back up your laptops, lock your cars and doors, and never let your spiral notebook out of your sight! And perhaps it’s not a good idea to name your computers because it hurts worse when they’re gone.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Goodbye, Nibbler”

  1. Evan Says:

    Ouch, that’s rough! So sorry to hear that!

Leave a Reply

